“And I’m from Malawi…”

So! Today Stacy and I got together to work on our final project. It’s going to be a video about multiculturalism in Canada… we haven’t worked out all the details, but we got most of footage today.

Stacy just blogged the gist of what we did, but for those of you who haven’t read about it, we spent the day meeting with all of the families that attend my day camp in the summer time. We drove all over the city, invited ourselves into houses, set up our (at times, faulty) technology and got the kids to tell us a bit about themselves. The kids were so excited to be a part of this, and their parents were really excited to have their children be involved. They are thrilled to share a part of their story.

My friend, Doug, let us borrow his video camera when ours from the school stopped working. He, unfortunately, couldn’t find the cord to upload  them to the computer, or I’d give you all some funny tidbits. Such as 8-year-old Oswald from the Congo giving his introduction as such: “My name is Oswald. I have a superman costume. And I’m from Malawi.” Then grinning and giggling to himself as his family yelled in the background, “CONGO, Oswald, you liar!” (I wish you all knew this kid, and could appreciate how funny he is).

We got to visit families from so many different countries: India, Somalia, Iraq, Ethiopia, Kenya, Liberia, the Congo, Thailand… and Malawi, apparently. All of these different cultures right here in Saskatchewan. It’s amazing, really, the face that is Canada – the many faces. I’m at home now, just thinking about today, and I feel so blessed to have all of these people in my life. So many lives and backgrounds and histories that are so different from my own, but unique and moving and powerful. Such a great day. I can’t wait to share our project with you.

One thought on ““And I’m from Malawi…”

Leave a Reply

