fate?

Do you ever get the feeling that something is going to happen to you? Something that is inevitable? Like you know it’s going to happen whether you want it to or not?

There’s this organization in Haiti, and they’re working on building a children’s village for orphans. I heard about it a few years ago, and right away I had a desire to be a part of this. But, I had just started university and travelling wasn’t really an option.

Then, last year I ended up going to Africa. It’s a really strange, long story, but it came up out of nowhere and just happened. I lived on a farm that was kind of same idea of this children’s village, and it was a really incredible experience.

Now I’m back in school. I will finish my degree in December of 2012. I am so excited to be a teacher. I’ve been proactively working towards my career – studying, networking, volunteering, embracing the idea of “professional development.” All of these things that look great on paper and build an attractive resume.

But. Today I was talking someone who is going down to Haiti in February to work with this organization in completing the wall that will surround the children’s village. And, as per usual, I am filled with this overwhelming sense that I will spend some time there. I don’t mean this in a “I’m going to help orphans and I’m so excited!” kind of way, but in a “I think I’ll spend a year or two there after school and make no money or advance my career, but it’s kind of inevitable” kind of way. Not that I don’t want to, but it’s just that I’ve been working really hard to build this attractive resume as a teacher… and maybe I’ll end up somewhere else, doing something else for a season of my life? Something that seems kind of foolish or insignificant by professional standards, but I have this undeniable desire in my heart and I don’t know where it came from or what to do with it.

I titled this post “fate,” but I think it’s kind of a cliche word. I think that people make choices about their lives and the direction that it goes in… But what happens when the direction you’ve chosen and the feelings in your heart are different? Not that I don’t want to be a teacher, I really do… but maybe I want to do this too for a little while?

5 thoughts on “fate?

  1. Pingback: Who ever said? | Stacy's Blog

  2. Someway, somehow, everything will turn out. Life is what you make it, and I honestly believe that you are going to be amazing at whatever life throws your way.
    I have seen you in action, and I have been a bystander and on the receiving end of your huge heart. If you so choose, you will make one of the most amazing teachers our society will ever see.

    Getting this degree may be the first step for something better. Like Anna said, who said teachers have to have a classroom in schools?
    One of the great things about getting an education degree is that there are so many different options for you!

    There is nothing saying you can’t go to Haiti for a couple of years and spread your wings before you decide what you want. You say that going to Haiti “seems kind of foolish or insignificant by professional standards” … but I completely disagree. Professionally, anyone doing the hiring wants you to have experience. All kinds of experience! What’s to say that spending a season of your life in Haiti isn’t an appropriate experience?

    I think that you are going to do amazing in what ever path you choose. Also, you will always have support from Canada and if you get lost and need a helping hand, you have lots of people to turn to …

    Stacy

  3. I think that becoming teachers gives us a little bit of leeway in our life choices. We are so influential in the classroom and our teaching practices and methods come from who we are as individuals- not from some government issued document. I believe that no matter where you go, or what you do, it will all eventually reflect in your classroom. Your experiences in Africa with probably show up in your classroom everyday without you even knowing it! And if you do go to Haiti, I’m sure you will find that you will want to pass on your passion of helping others to your students and inspire an entire generation of learners to think of others and that they can make a difference in the world around them.
    As teachers, our experiences enrich our classrooms. Life is not the straight and narrow, it twists and winds and often we find ourselves on completely different paths- you may find yourself changing the way education is taught, or maybe ending up teaching in a place you never imagined, or even finding something else and not teaching at all! I understand your urge to travel and help others, I often have the itchy feet syndrome myself. Whenever I hear a song about changing the world I want to quit school, pack my bags and go to Uganda or Peru! However, I believe that no matter what I do or where I end up, I won’t regret anything or anywhere my life has taken me because it has made me into the person I am today. I want to make a difference, that is my life goal, but for me, I may just be making a difference in the lives of those I teach. I hope you find happiness in all of life’s paths and roads but remember that your past will always be there, and so will the lessons and experiences with it, its your future that you have the choice in and the change you can make for your students or for those in the world.
    Your travels will help on your resume because they will know that you have so much more to offer your students in terms of knowledge because you have passion and you have seen the world first hand.

  4. Kailee, I think you’re mistaken if you believe that going to Haiti and becoming a teacher are two mutually exclusive lifegoals. When you were in Africa, what were you doing? When you work at your daycamp or babysit or hang out with all your favourite foreign kids in MJ, what are you doing? You’re teaching. If you went to Haiti and worked at an orphanage, or even with adults, you would be teaching. Being in a classroom surrounded by books and students sitting in a desk is not the only way to be a teacher. I don’t think you have to think of this as unrelated to your degree or unhelpful for your resume. Your experiences will be examples of your compassion, your huge heart, your patience and endurance and strength and intelligence. None of these things will hurt you if and when you choose to get a “traditional” teaching job!!

    I have only one further thing to say, and it seems to have become somewhat of a motto in my life, and I hope it makes sense to you and/or helps you: Go boldly in the direction of your dreams. Don’t look back. Don’t question it. You will prevail.

  5. I know that feeling so well… And I usually find stuff just happening when they should, not when I think they will. Sometimes it takes years for things to click and send me on a kick somewhere I would never think I would be going to, even though I had a premonition…
    Not sure if you are excited by the Haiti possibility or not. For me things usually turn out good, or even great, when I least expect it.
    Also, after getting a degree you may find yourself teaching something and somewhere else than you would expect. Maybe your ‘fate’ is not regular school?

    I was just thinking the other day – you guys are all preparing to be teachers. But why does it have to be teachers at schools? I was wondering what other possibilities you have after graduating from University in Canada (me myself graduating in Poland)?

Leave a Reply

