Hola!

It’s only 8:30 or so here, and I’m almost ready for bed! Although the time change is only an hour, I can’t seem to get enough sleep here! I’m not sure if my body is still catching up from my multi-day flight, or if the fact that the kids get up before dawn results in me also needing an 8 o`clock bedtime!

Today I observed the 5 English classes that I will be taking over: Pre-K, kindergarten, gr 1, gr 2, and gr 4. Each grade has it’s own classroom, but they rotate to the English classroom for one class a day – that is where I’ll be! The classroom is tiny and hot (there isn’t a place that it isn’t hot!), but it’s decorated with letters, words, shapes, and colours! There are teeny little tables and chairs that the students sit at for the 45 minute class – even the Pre-Ks! That would never happen in Canada, hey @GailCyrenne ? Explore by play? No way, these 4 year olds mean business.

The classes usually start with a “Hello Students” and, in complete unison, “Hello Teacher!” It cracks me up every time, I’m going to record it for you. They younger ones sing a number of songs about letters and colours, and then usually move on to a lesson and activity or worksheet. The school here follows a Canadian-based curriculum that is full of ideas, although I’m not gunna lie, I’m a little nervous about taking over these classes. The grade 2s have 28 students in the tiny classroom, 17 of which are HIGH-spirited little boys…. So I wasn’t kidding when I said I need to figure out “sit down; be quiet; stop” muchas rapido!

On a different note, I’ve been able to see a bit of the town, and that’s been really interesting. When I mentioned the market the other day, I had really only gone past it. On Sunday, I actually got to wander through the heart of it. Sunday is market day, so the place was booming! I wish I could send you all the smells and the sights. Raw meat sweltering in the heat, hanging in huge chunks, piles of skinned chickens, and every kind of produce you can imagine. I wanted to take pictures, but the Peruvian woman I was with warned me to keep my camera away: “gringa (white girl) with camera in the market, ce no bien.”

We also rode one of these to and from the market:

un moto

I have never seen one of these before, but they’re pretty awesome. They’re quick, they let in a nice breeze on a hot day, and they’re so small that they have the ability to cut through traffic (like you wouldn’t believe or want to know). Driving anywhere in Peru and not being killed in an accident is nothing short of a miracle.

In other news, I have chicken pox? Nope, mosquito bites. I swear I usually put spray on, but they bite anyway. And, last night I forgot altogether. They must like my foreign blood. I am so itchy I am losing my mind. Apparently they are supposed to be gone by this time of year, but the rice was planted late, and rice field are kept in water, which attracts the mosquitos, and the compound is bordered on two sides by rice fields… Awesome.

XO – kb

8 thoughts on “Hola!

  1. Lady: when Joel and I were on the coast in Nica, the mosquitos were just like that. A lady recommended coconut oil mixed with tea tree oil because the mosquitos don’t like the smell. I dunno if you have access to those two ingredients, but it worked pretty good! We didn’t wear bugspray once! Also, it smells like chocolate chip mint cookies, which is a definite bonus.

  2. So the misquito plague runs rampant in South America too, eh? I can’t say one nice thing about them, so in the wisdom of my Ma- Ikm gonna shut-up now! Lol

    And I guess Peru has a few different ideas re: food-safe practices too! Travelling to foreign countries are forever an eye-opening experience. Another wise-tip… Don’t eat the chicken! Hee hee!

    And so your awesome-crazy adventure continues… So cool! Love reading your updates, Teach!

    LB

  3. Wow sounds awesome(not the mosquito part) you seem to be having a great time there. Bring back plenty of pictures pretty please and maybe some sand or a rock for me

    Ariet 🙂

  4. Wow Kailee, how exciting. I have no doubt you will manage all of those classrooms with grace and ease and your Spanish will come along just as the children’s English develops. As for the mosquitos, you are right, they do love imported blood so be careful to stay covered when ever possible. Take care. I look forward to following you on your trip – Auntie Cindy

Leave a Reply

